top of page

Your Chakras

Many people believe that we are each limited to what “nature” gave us in terms of our personality and our intelligence. The truth is that each human has unlimited potential that can be understood and elevated through their elegant chakra system. We are part of nature, not separate from her.

Ancient scholars in India studied the stars and planets and the energy channels in the body. They wrote about the weaving together of life—that there’s no separateness, that we’re all connected in energy, and that this energy is love and light. Modern science teaches us that in the human body, every atom, molecule, cell, tissue and body system is composed of energy. Energy is always in motion, vibrating so subtly that we generally do not detect it. Life is always moving, pulsing with the flow of life force that is the universe.

There are seven main chakras, and they all correspond physiologically to the human nervous system along the vagus nerve as well as the location of our glands and our seven main nerve ganglia of the spinal column. In Sanskrit, the word chakra means wheel and refers to the energy centres in your body.

This central channel in your body is the key to personal mastery and growth. We so often look to the outside to “fix” something we think is wrong with us. We gravitate to others to make us happy, alcohol or drugs to calm us, and sex in the hope that it will make us feel what we cannot understand about ourselves.

The truth is that the energy system of the chakras holds these answers, and can help you elevate in all areas of your life. You don’t need to be fixed, you need to reconnect to the source energy and wisdom of the universe.

Chakras are wheels of energy that start at your perineum and rise through your central body channel in a connected system that is meant to be engaged with, expanded and elevated. Ignoring your energy system is how your instincts are blocked, resulting in lack of clarity in many areas of life. Acknowledging that there are rhythms in life helps us know that when we feel “off”, we have a system to help bring us back into harmony with our heart felt truth.

Your chakra system is your personal reset switch.

The Root Chakra is all about your awareness and perception in life. The Sanskrit name is Muladhara, Mula meaning “root” and Adhara, which means “support” or “base.” The root chakra is associated with the colour red. Colour is the frequency of visible light, ranging from 430 trillion Hertz (red) to 750 trillion Hertz (violet). The lower the frequency is, the less energy in the wave. This chakra is associated with the element of earth, the foundation of our physical world. Root chakra energy blocks are about survival, money, vitality, wounding, security, support, stability, sexuality, individuality, awareness and perception.

The Sacral Chakra is home of your sense of wonder and imagination. The Sanskrit name is Swadhistana, which means “one's own place.” The sacral chakra is associated with the colour orange and with the element of water reminding us to flow with the energy we are created from. Sacral chakra energy blocks are about intimacy, sensuality, creativity, movement, freedom, sovereignty, procreation, desire, awe, wonder and imagination.

The Solar Plexus Chakra is where your instinct and ability to take action in life is located. The Sanskrit name is Manipura, which means “lustrous gem.” The solar plexus chakra is associated with the colour yellow and with the element of fire, which warms up our energy. Solar plexus chakra energy blocks are about low self-esteem, trouble making decisions, digestion issues, irresponsibility, excessive need for control, victim mentality, and feelings of helplessness, insecurity or inauthenticity.

The Heart Chakra is home to joy and love. The Sanskrit name is Anahata, which means “unstruck.” The heart chakra is associated with the colour green and with the element of air, the breath that fills you with life. Your heart is the bridge between body and mind, and connects you to divine love, the source energy of our shared world. We each contribute to the universe through our heart chakra. Heart chakra energy blocks are about an inability to forgive others or move on from past experiences, detachment from emotions, lonely, fear of intimacy, or defensiveness.

The Throat Chakra is where your expression and permission to express authentically is located. The Sanskrit name is Vishuddha, which means to purify. The throat chakra is associated with the colour blue and with the element of sound embracing the healing vibration of words, music, and nature. Throat chakra energy blocks are about fear of speaking your personal truth, anxiety about communicating, difficulty expressing your thoughts, dominating conversations, gossiping, and speaking without thinking.

Third Eye Chakra is the seat of your intuition and curiosity. The Sanskrit name is Anja, which means “to know.” The third eye chakra is associated with the colour indigo and with the element of light. Third eye chakra energy blocks are about disconnection from your intuition, disconnection from nature, disconnection from others (spending too much time in meditation or alone), judgemental of others or yourself, an under-active imagination and trouble sleeping (insomnia).

The Crown Chakra is where wisdom and connection meet with the universal consciousness we all share. The Sanskrit name is Sahasrara, which means “thousandfold.” The crown chakra is associated with the colour violet and with the element of universal consciousness that flows in and all around us. Crown chakra energy blocks are about cynicism or apathy, "spiritual" addiction or self-destructive tendencies, overwhelmed by knowledge and confusion or lack of inspiration.

Over time your body stores patterns of physical tension, stress and trauma. Both body tissue and your chakras store unresolved emotions, thoughts, beliefs and fears. Together these create long-standing stress patterns throughout the body.

The three main causes of blocked energy are:

1) your breathing patterns

2) the limiting beliefs of others that condition the way you act and speak

3) the number of trapped emotions you hold

Breathing practices are one of the simplest ways to open areas of blocked energy. In my book, The Champagne Chakra, I teach three simple techniques that will help you move your energy and get unstuck. Journaling will help you uncover your limiting beliefs and is a safe place to explore your thoughts about how you truly want to live your life. Energy healing will help you remove the emotional baggage that holds you back in life.

Mastering your energy is not achieved in isolated practices. The real magic happens when you understand yourself as a whole synergistic system: Your whole is greater than the sum of your parts.

If you want help to identify and release the areas where your chakras are blocked, click here!




bottom of page